project website | Euro-African Cooperation on ICT Research | Glossary project website | Euro-African Cooperation on ICT Research
LinkedIn Twitter Blog Entries


ACP African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States
AISI African Information Society Initiative
AMCOST African Ministerial Council on Science and Technology
AOSTI African Observatory for Science, Technology and Innovation
ARAPKE African Regional Action Plan on the Knowledge Economy
ASTII African Science Technology and Innovation Indicators
AU / AUC African Union / African Union Commission
CEN-SAD The Community of Sahel-Saharan States
COMESA Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa
CORDIS Community Research and Development Information Center
CPA Consolidated Plan of Action
DG DEVCO (EuropeAid) Directorate General for Development and Cooperation
DG Connect Directorate General for Communications Networks, Content and Technology  (ex DG INFSO: Directorate General Information Society and Media)
DG RESEARCH (RTD) Directorate General for Research and Innovation
EAC East African Community
ECCAS Economic Community of Central African States
ECOWAS Economic Commission of West African States
EU / EC European Union / European Commission
Euromed Euro-Mediterranean Partnership
EuropeAid EuropeAid Cooperation Office
FP6 6th Framework Programme for Research and Development
FP7 7th Framework Programme for Research and Development (2007-2013)
Horizon 2020 The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (2014-2020)
ICT Information Communication Technologies
IGAD Intergovernmental Authority on Development
JAES Joint Africa-EU Strategy
JEG8 Joint Expert Group on P8 (EU-Africa Partnership 8: Science, Information, Society and Space)
JSAP Joint Strategy and Action Plan
MDGs Millennium Development Goals
MS Member States
NEPAD New Partnership for Africa’s Development
NREN National Research and Education Network
OECD Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
PPP Public-Private Partnership
R&D Research and Developement
REA Research Executive Agency
RECs Regional Economic Communities
SADC Southern Africa Development Community
S&T Science and Technology
SMEs Small & Medium Enterprises
STI Science Technology Indicators
UMA Union du Maghreb Arabe
UNDP United Nations Development Program
UNECA The United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation
WTO World Trade Organisation